Go Back   Scale 4x4 R/C Forums > Monsters, Scale 4X2, & Non scale R/C > Rock Crawlers
Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!

Rock Crawlers For those Rock crawling, stone sliding, body scratching, articulation crackheads; this place is for you!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old 05-09-2009, 06:38 AM
QIK-RX4's Avatar
QIK-RX4 QIK-RX4 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Townsville Australia
Posts: 37
Member Number: 6525
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default HELP!!!!! Please? Anyone?

I need some brainy people help please! Im having problems with my wifes Axial ARTR and her Tamiya highlift.

Here are the set ups:

Axial:

Integy 55t lathe motor. (new)
Tekin FX-R esc. (new)
Spektrum SR300 receiver.(new). DX3.0 radio.
Hitech 10kg didgital steering servo.(new)
Batterys either: 1500mh 11.1v lipo, 4000mh 7.4v lipo, 3600mh nmh.

Tamiya:

Integy 55t lathe motor. (new)
Tekin FX-R esc. (new)
Spektrum AR6000 receiver. DX6i radio.
ACE 15kg didgital steering servo.(new)
Futaba stocko gear servo.(new)
Batterys either: 1500mh 11.1v lipo, 4000mh 7.4v lipo, 3600mh nmh.

Now the problems.....

The rock crawler will run fine for about 40mins on one of the 1500 lipo's. As soon as you change it for another one it starts to thermal cut and the esc heats up heaps. Even when the crawler isnt workin that hard driving over stuff. Let it cool down for a sec or two and it keeps running. The power to the receiver gets cut. Then it seems to work again.

Change back to the 7.4v lipo and it runs fine as.


Highlift:

Same thing as above, but it trips out with all the batterys. Just takes longer with the 3600mh 7.2v nmh. It got me buggered.

I have a Axial crawler as well.

Tekin FX-R esc.
Integy 55t lathe motor.
Spektrum 6200 receiver.
Two tower hobbie didgital 12kg servo's. (4WS)
Runs all day on the 1500mh 11.1v lipo's and any other battery I put in it.

Never had any problems with it trippin out even when the damn thing has a wheel jammed or workin hard.

Tekin's web site says the FX-R will handle the 3S lipo's with a 35T + motor.

The only diffrence between the 3 trucks is the receivers and the servo's.

Any people have idea's????

Cheers,
Rob.
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links


The sponsored ad above is only displayed to guests. Creat an account today to remove this ad!
  #2  
Old 05-09-2009, 06:55 AM
Old Busted Hotness's Avatar
Old Busted Hotness Old Busted Hotness is offline
Electric Monk on a bored horse
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 21,273
Member Number: 185
B/S/T Feedback: (4)
Default

Gear mesh too tight?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by stevehuckss396 View Post
It is fun. The failures are just practice.
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old 05-09-2009, 07:09 AM
QIK-RX4's Avatar
QIK-RX4 QIK-RX4 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Townsville Australia
Posts: 37
Member Number: 6525
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default







Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old 05-09-2009, 07:10 AM
QIK-RX4's Avatar
QIK-RX4 QIK-RX4 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Townsville Australia
Posts: 37
Member Number: 6525
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default



Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old 05-09-2009, 07:21 AM
QIK-RX4's Avatar
QIK-RX4 QIK-RX4 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Townsville Australia
Posts: 37
Member Number: 6525
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default

Whoops, posted this up in the wrong area. Sorry mods........

Gears seem to be fine.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old 05-09-2009, 09:26 AM
Arcocustom's Avatar
Arcocustom Arcocustom is offline
Three .001 on every moving part.
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: Johnston, RI
Posts: 747
Member Number: 2344
B/S/T Feedback: (1)
Default

I read an article about the early model spektrum receivers glitching because of the way the antenna was installed at he factory. Call spektrum and ask if your receivers need service to correct this flaw.
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old 05-09-2009, 09:16 PM
QIK-RX4's Avatar
QIK-RX4 QIK-RX4 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Townsville Australia
Posts: 37
Member Number: 6525
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default

I changed the receivers around and I am still having problems.

Looks like its with the Tekin esc.

I just updated the softwear on my crawler and now it wont turn on.
Im soooo happy right now.
Reply With Quote
  #8  
Old 05-09-2009, 10:12 PM
wildcardco1998's Avatar
wildcardco1998 wildcardco1998 is offline
Flat Broke
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Paragould, AR
Posts: 1,900
Member Number: 2787
B/S/T Feedback: (6)
Default

I think it is all caused by that max amps 6000mah lipo. You should send it to me for further abuse.... I mean testing. Yeah testing.
__________________

Spending money I don't have, To buy parts I don't need, To impress people I don't know.
Reply With Quote
  #9  
Old 05-10-2009, 05:13 AM
QIK-RX4's Avatar
QIK-RX4 QIK-RX4 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Townsville Australia
Posts: 37
Member Number: 6525
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default

LoL..... er, no! I use it in my drifter! Damn thing last's for hours. Just about run the crawler for half a day.

Managed to get my rock crawler going again. Had to reset everything.

My esc is the fx-r model before the other ones. It doesnt have an on/off switch.
Reply With Quote


Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, Scale 4x4 R/C