Go Back   Scale 4x4 R/C Forums > Monsters, Scale 4X2, & Non scale R/C > Rock Crawlers
Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!

Rock Crawlers For those Rock crawling, stone sliding, body scratching, articulation crackheads; this place is for you!

Old 11-03-2017, 11:50 PM

Member Number: 26065
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default HSP Pangolin upgrades - body, tyres, shocks, speed

Hi.
I am new to crawling and got a HSP Pangolin for my grandson last year.
Iíve noticed a few initial problems that Iíd like to rectify as we are starting to get out and play with it together a lot more now.

1. Body fouling the arches (Jeep Wrangler body)
1. Iíve tried cutting the arches a bit but it seems they need cutting off a lot more than I want.
2. I tried smaller tyres but the ground clearance is too low and the bumpers catch. I actually went for 1.9Ē tyres but they are only 93mm diameter instead of 125mm. Iíll probably get some super swampers or mud slingers
3. I believe I need to limit the shock travel but canít find any sites showing how to do it, can anyone give me some instructions?
4. It would actually be nice to get a better fitting body as the standard wrangler has 240mm arches centre to centre but the wheelbase is actually 330mm
2. Suspension leans to one side
1. Iíve seen people recommending putting the motor on the other side of the spur gear which seems simple so Iíll give that a go to limit torque twist.
2. Putting spacers on the spring on the soft side to firm / push it up. but that seems like half baked solution as the shocks would be unbalanced so...
3. I wondered about better shocks. Wouldnít mind some anodised alloy threaded adjustable shocks. Would that solve the lean?
4. Iíve also seen people adjusting shock angles but that seems a bit extreme with cutting lower arms.
5. Some people seem to be really proud of their SCX10 conversions which have upright shocks, but even with a second hand chassis from eBay or gumtree it will be an expensive solution I think.