Go Back   Scale 4x4 R/C Forums > Scale 4x4 R/C Trux! > Agricultural and Industrial Equipment
Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!

Agricultural and Industrial Equipment A place for your agricultural, industrial, and other heavy equipment builds!


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #91  
Old 02-19-2009, 09:59 PM
Tamiya Cowboy's Avatar
Tamiya Cowboy Tamiya Cowboy is offline
HATERS BE HATE'N..
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 1,955
Member Number: 85
B/S/T Feedback: (10)
Talking

Quote:
Originally Posted by protrker View Post
Overall, the 966 has worked reasonably well, I knew about the hinge point problem prior to building the model, so I corrected that before it ruined many other parts of the model, like steering cyls and driveshafts that other pre #500 owners had to repair after little use. It was not until after 500 loader kits sold before Wedico corrected that major oversight! And now pre #500 owners have to "pay" for this upgrade... that's pretty poor business ethics...

...and the same short sighted planning spills over into this 740 model. Weak drivetrain, not enough gearing or power for this brute of a model, this ADT is really heavy with no load on it. I'm just really disappointed, I can't keep this junk 740 running for more than a few hrs at a time, and if I can't fix the problem myself, I'm waiting months for replacement parts.

Within the first twenty loads I snapped the eye off of one of the lift cylinders. I explained the reason why it happened thoroughly (and politely) on a german forum, that the angle on the rod eye changes from down on the chassis to fully extended and a possible solution to correct it and Wedico (Rainer) makes a reply through a third party that I didn't read the instructions correctly & installed it wrong... what would some dumb hick from Canada know about model engineering... no, they didn't say that, but I'm sure they were thinking it.

...well I just aint gonna spend big bucks to buy their junk anymore and correct their problems out of my pocket to boot.
Joe

I watched Greg talk to Mr. wedico at Indy last year and when Gregs back was turned the same things seamed to have been said about him..Running it to hard did not put it together right BLAH BLAH BLAH case and point there stuff is junk! and they do not take care of there coustomers..Look at the greaman boards i see more other brands of loaders and haulers then I do Wedico..Watch the vids on You Tube of the shows in German and you see more other brands then Wedico??? Why is That??? Hmmmmm Dont tell no one.....
__________________
RIP FreddyGearDrive
Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links


The sponsored ad above is only displayed to guests. Creat an account today to remove this ad!
  #92  
Old 02-19-2009, 10:48 PM
Lil Giants's Avatar
Lil Giants Lil Giants is offline
JOE
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 757
Member Number: 1683
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Pipeliner_970 View Post
...but I thought Gregs axles he built for his ADT looked pretty good and it seems to me that they'll function quite well. They may not be "perfect" in terms of scale appearance, but the axles aren't a focal point of the machine anyway
Marty
When I say "butcher", I mean I don't want to alter any of the WDC parts to fit axle tubes with gear motors. If you notice in the above picture with the front axle removed, a 1.8 inch (approx) tube is not likely to fit in that small area without some serious modification so the wheel/tire is properly centered within the wheel well/fender... not to mention getting the model to sit level with tandem tubes in the rear and still have some axle articulation. I don't want to do any drilling on this model.

It won't be a simple "add-on" modification, I am certain of that. I'll do some figuring next winter.
Reply With Quote
  #93  
Old 02-19-2009, 11:26 PM
Lil Giants's Avatar
Lil Giants Lil Giants is offline
JOE
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 757
Member Number: 1683
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default

10-4 Paul

I've heard alot of 2nd hand information from others that wdc Germany thinks us north american owners of their models are substandard builders who are the sole cause of the problems we're having. Supposibly, when the 345 comes to market in a yr or so, it will be shipped to the USA as a pre-built model only... for an added cost no doubt. If that is indeed true, then 100% positively I'll never buy one!

Yeah, I've noticed that too! It's rare that you'll ever see any wdc construction models of owners "from" Germany. But you'll always see some Stahl excavs or dozers or loaders though, and I doubt that it's for the sole reason that Stahl has been around longer.
Reply With Quote
  #94  
Old 02-20-2009, 07:30 AM
Tamiya Cowboy's Avatar
Tamiya Cowboy Tamiya Cowboy is offline
HATERS BE HATE'N..
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 1,955
Member Number: 85
B/S/T Feedback: (10)
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by protrker View Post
10-4 Paul

I've heard a lot of 2nd hand information from others that wdc Germany thinks us north American owners of their models are substandard builders who are the sole cause of the problems we're having. Supposedly, when the 345 comes to market in a yr or so, it will be shipped to the USA as a pre-built model only... for an added cost no doubt. If that is indeed true, then 100% positively I'll never buy one!

Yeah, I've noticed that too! It's rare that you'll ever see any wdc construction models of owners "from" Germany. But you'll always see some Stahl excavs or dozers or loaders though, and I doubt that it's for the sole reason that Stahl has been around longer.
Yeah there stuff looks good but that is really where it ends. I ran both of Ric loaders at Indy and they were nice the Hydros were to slow for me but I ran Lee's converted Hanomag and that thing would run circles around them wedico and at near half the price..
__________________
RIP FreddyGearDrive
Reply With Quote
  #95  
Old 02-21-2009, 10:47 PM
ddc333 ddc333 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 24
Member Number: 5126
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default

Hi Joe

Did you sort out your radio glitches that you were having ????? it was the 740 wasn't it was it the polka radio or something else ??

Daniel
Reply With Quote
  #96  
Old 02-22-2009, 10:10 AM
Lil Giants's Avatar
Lil Giants Lil Giants is offline
JOE
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 757
Member Number: 1683
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default

Hello Daniel

No, never had enough time to sort it out before the 740 quit again. Both Polk radios continue to work fine with the other trks that are programmed into them. Even the radio that I thought glitched when the KH dump trk was climbing the wall.

I live in an eighty yr old house, the wiring was done in the mid sixties, who knows what effect that may have on radio interenece at times?
Reply With Quote
  #97  
Old 03-01-2009, 12:02 PM
Lil Giants's Avatar
Lil Giants Lil Giants is offline
JOE
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 757
Member Number: 1683
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default

Something new...









My good friend Joe Ayrs from NY, USA built this scraper for me. Thanx buddy!

The 1st one he built for himself to pull with his 1/16th 4wd tractors didn't look that big in tow, his tractors must be huge!

I need to remove the ripper from the lead dozer & build a hitch; add another valve and then it will be good to go!

Look for a video sometime this summer of this trio tearing up the garden!

Last edited by Lil Giants : 03-01-2009 at 07:16 PM.
Reply With Quote
  #98  
Old 03-01-2009, 12:10 PM
Tamiya Cowboy's Avatar
Tamiya Cowboy Tamiya Cowboy is offline
HATERS BE HATE'N..
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 1,955
Member Number: 85
B/S/T Feedback: (10)
Default

Joe

That scraper is a MONSTER really great looking...Now time for some weathering the fun way working it hard!!
__________________
RIP FreddyGearDrive
Reply With Quote
  #99  
Old 03-01-2009, 07:09 PM
joeayars joeayars is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: New Jersey
Posts: 34
Member Number: 7067
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default

Hey Joe the scraper looks good behind the dozer! I was starting to get worried when it wasn't showing up as fast as I thought it would have, I hope it works out for ya......
Reply With Quote
  #100  
Old 03-01-2009, 07:29 PM
Lil Giants's Avatar
Lil Giants Lil Giants is offline
JOE
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 757
Member Number: 1683
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default

Yes indeed Paul!

No worries Joe, Customs (union workers) is always the holdup! I'm looking forward to the torture test this summer, we'll see if these two dozers are stout enough to crumple up this implement.
Reply With Quote
  #101  
Old 03-02-2009, 12:14 AM
Pipeliner_970 Pipeliner_970 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 18
Member Number: 6283
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default

The scraper looks sweet Joe, many cudos to your buddy on the build. Is the JD dozer a new addition to the collection, or did I just miss it in the pics and videos somewhere? Anyway thats a great looking dozer, looks to have quite a bit of work done to give it the authentic JD look...

Also, how do you plan to run both the dozers at the same time?
Reply With Quote
  #102  
Old 03-03-2009, 06:28 AM
Lil Giants's Avatar
Lil Giants Lil Giants is offline
JOE
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 757
Member Number: 1683
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default

I got that JD dozer from Mitch last April, it's shown in the GT thread. It's a work of ART!

The rear dozer has the "ratchet" on the radio stick to set the throttle.

I have a servo splitter electronic device which I'll install into the JD dozer to keep all the hyd controls working on the right stick. One side of the splitter operates the blade up/down & tilt - flip a switch on the radio to go to the other side of splitter to operate the scraper with the right stick again.

It's a nifty device I picked up from Leimbach yrs ago to operate the tracks with the sticks on my excav with a regular 6ch radio. Then I discovered the Robbe F14 radios with the proportional sliders and now I can walk up a hill using all 6chs at once... though it's a little difficult to perform (wish I had foot pedals to plug into the radio).
Reply With Quote
  #103  
Old 03-03-2009, 03:16 PM
Pipeliner_970 Pipeliner_970 is offline
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 18
Member Number: 6283
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default

That is avery nice dozer, I'll have to go find it on GT and take a look.

Thats quite a handy device to run the scraper, and should work quite well considering you shouldn't need to run the blade and the scraper at the same time. hopefully anyway...

I bet that is a trick to run the sliders and the boom and crowd all at the same time. Could you do a little plastic surgery and put the sliders on the bottom or front of your tx so you could run them with free fingers?
Reply With Quote
  #104  
Old 03-05-2009, 11:21 AM
mog mog is offline
mog
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: estavan sk
Posts: 183
Member Number: 6158
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default

i see that you got a scrapper now joe i gess i will have to come and drive the poush dozer for you cus well i don't think you can drive both at once. looks grate behind the jd.
Reply With Quote
  #105  
Old 03-07-2009, 08:02 PM
Lil Giants's Avatar
Lil Giants Lil Giants is offline
JOE
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Saskatchewan, Canada
Posts: 757
Member Number: 1683
B/S/T Feedback: (0)
Default

Yes you can Martin, I'll lyk when it's ready to roll.

I have the darnedest luck when it comes to electronics, especially these sensitive Leimbach speed controls... I blew the dirt off the dozer with pressurized air before bringing it upstairs for pictures with the scraper, even gave it a bit of blast under the cab and hood... all clean.

A few days later I take it back to the basement and the model won't work properly. Push the stick forward and one track goes forward & the other goes backwards, I can't get it to work right. I take the cab floor off so I can get to the 3 adjusting pots, I can't correct the problem. I changed it out today with a spare one I had on hand.

There's no other reason I can think of for it going haywire... if there was any moisture in the pressurized air, it was days before turning it on again, so it shouldn't have short circuited. This esc was the original that came with the model in 02, so I guess I got my money's worth out of it anyway... but still. :'(
Reply With Quote


Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Forum Jump


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:34 AM.


Powered by vBulletin®
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.
Copyright 2004 - 2018, Scale 4x4 R/C