Go Back   Scale 4x4 R/C Forums > In General > Pigpen of Miscellany > Outdoor Pursuits
Make payments with PayPal - it's fast, free and secure!

Outdoor Pursuits Camping, hiking, fishing, hunting, etc.

Old 02-20-2012, 12:09 PM
I'm Ron Burgandy?

Member Number: 13407
B/S/T Feedback: (3)
Default Need some advice - Hunting & Tactical knives

My brother is standing up in my wedding as my best man. Instead of getting him the typical gift like an engraved flask or something, I'd like to get him something he can/will use.

He's a Staff Sgt in the IL Nat'l Guard and an avid hunter, so a good dependable knife would serve as a pretty useful gift. Only problem is, I have no military or hunting experience and really wouldn't know how to spot a dependable quality knife other than by looking at the price tag.

I'm looking to spend around $150. A folding lock-blade style would probably work best, he doesn't need a Rambo knife. From the research I have done, $150 barely gets me into the high-end knives...but that's all I can afford. I think he'll still appreciate more than a typical mindless/thoughtless gift.

Any suggestions?

Thanks!
Old 02-20-2012, 12:57 PM
Demo..for short. Semper Fi to all those serving the country

Member Number: 3586
B/S/T Feedback: (9)

Some good names are Benchmade, Kershaw, Schrade, SOG, Ka-Bar to name a few.
Here is a sight with many to chose from, I have never ordered from them myself but do use them foe selection/research. Link will take you to the fixed blade selection 0-$150.

http://www.knifecenter.com/kc_new/st...&max_price=150
Old 02-20-2012, 01:23 PM
Old Time'r

Member Number: 528
B/S/T Feedback: (17)